Academic Librarian of the Year: FLORENDA D. MALLARI.

The Philippine Association of Academic and Research Librarians (PAARL) proclaimed UPD Main Library’s Mrs. FLORENDA D. MALLARI as the 2006 Academic Librarian of the Year — a major award bestowed on select librarians “for their outstanding national contribution to academic or research librarianship and library development in the Philippines”. Mrs. Mallari was commended for her various contributions to the field, one of which was serving as Project Leader behind the construction of the Filipiniana Books for College Libraries (book core collection), a selection tool for librarians fitted for college libraries in the Philippines. She also served as Vice-President 2004-2005 Executive Board of the PAARL.


Mrs. Mallari is one of two recipients of this distinguished award given by the PAARL every year. Ms. LINDA L. MONDOÑEDO, Director of Libraries of the Liceo de Cagayan University, is her fellow-awardee.

Members of the Philippine eLib Team receive the plaque from Ms. Fe Angela Verzosa and Sr. Ignatius Tal Placido of the PAARL, together with CEU President Dr. Ma. Cristina D. Padolina (far right).

Meanwhile, the 2006 Outstanding Library Program of the Year was conferred to the Philippine eLib, a government-funded project collaborated by five partner agencies of which the University of the Philippines Library System and the The National Library of the Philippines are both members. The project was hailed for its “strong impact on the library community” and its significant contribution to Philippine academic librarianship.


Selection of awardees is done through a search and screening process conducted by the Scholarship and Awards Committee of the PAARL, and then approved by the Board.


The awarding ceremony was held during the PAARL’s General Assembly at the Tech Center, Centro Escolar University, Mendiola, Manila on 26 January 2007. –CMAbrigo